Time to Get Busy

13 Jan

Despite my lack of blogging,  this week I have been busy with Keegan’s Kaps.  I am excited that I got the paypal links working on the men’s, women’s and kid’s kaps pages of the blog.  Not a huge accomplishment for the computer savvy, but one that had eluded me for nearly a week.  After much fiddling and ‘help’ page reading, I was finally able to make them work correctly.  Theoretically this means people could actually purchase kaps from me.  That being said, I have a TON to do.  A good friend of mine is hosting a handcrafted boutique at the end for the month.  She has asked me to be one of the vendors.  I’m very excited about the prospect this show provides.  Not only to sell some kaps, but to start getting the Keegan’s Kap name out there.  However, this means I need to get my little fingers going and get some more hats made…. a lot more hats made!

Lastnight though, instead of making hats, I made a flyer for the event.  I have to admit, I ‘borrowed’ some stuff off the internet, but I’m pretty pleased with the results. 

Tonight I MUST make at least one hat.  I figure I should have at least 40 or so for the boutique.  That means I need 30 more since at this point I only have about 10 done.  That gives me 16 days to make 30 kaps.  Sounds doable right?  HA, can you sense my sarcasm straight through the computer?  Don’t forget, I work all day for 10 of those upcoming days.  When I get home from work I have my 2 yr old, whom upon turning 2 has taken up some serious bi-polar-like habits (read: typical 2-year-old fits), to take care of.  Not to mention the 5-6 other after work and weekend social endeavors I have signed myself and my family up for.  At this rate, I think I should feel blessed if I am able to make more than one kap in the upcoming weeks.  Nonetheless, I am up for a challenge and will keep you updated on my progress.  So, here are the latest kaps I have completed.

This ‘carrot’ colored hat was a special order for a co-worker.  I wasn’t sure about her request for an orange hat, but I am very pleased with how it turned out.  Luckily I bought enough of this yarn that I will be making a duplicate for the boutique.

This kid’s kap will travel with me to the boutique and hopefully land in the hands of an appreciative new customer.  It was a quick one to make and I like the way it turned out.  Not too pink, just a touch.

Another kid’s kap.  This was a new style I wanted to try.  Just one button that can be worn on either side.  The hat has a bit of a scrunched look on the side of the button.  I think it is a really cute modern style.  This one will also be available at the boutique, so I will be able to get some opinions on the new style before making a bunch more for my kid’s kap line.

So stay posted, on the edge of your seat.  More updates to come regarding my progress, or lack thereof.

One Response to “Time to Get Busy”

  1. Sara January 14, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    Your new hats are great! Particularly the orange one, and I wouldn’t even wear orange myself 🙂

    On my computer your flyer is very pastel and hard to read. You might darken up the background or change the text colors. Maybe get Crystal to help you? She is a whiz with that kind of stuff.

Leave a Reply

