Whew!

2 Feb

The boutique was a lot of work, but I was really pleased with how it went.  I sold about 1/2 of the hats that I prepared, but more importantly, I got a lot of positive feedback.  I had my first special order.  A hat for a 9 yr. old with a matching hat for her American Girl doll.  It was fun to make something so specific.  I delievered the completed hats today, so I’m excited to hear how they liked them. 

Tonight I spent some time with what I think might be my new best friend: Etsy.  I got my Etsy shop up and running with 7 listed hats.  At this point I am only listing hats I actually have, not hats I can make.   I looked at several other shops selling similar items and I noticed they just list a generic photo of their products and then make them to order.  I think that is a good idea, but I’m not there yet.  At this point I am only comfortable listing things I already have made.  We will see how the 7 items do.

Here is a link to my Etsy shop page:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/keeganskaps

Check it out if you get a chance.

I made a super awesome hat for Keegan this past weekend!  As he continues to grow, I find I need to keep updating his kaps.  He wore it to the Home and Garden Expo we went to on Sunday.  We had a really great time looking at all the awesome stuff you can do with your landscaping……however we made one vital error.  We forgot the stroller, forgot the backpack, forgot a leash (j/k I don’t condone the use of dog supplies on your children) we somehow forgot any sort of restraint system.  Which, as I’m sure you can imagine led to a very LONG day.  Keegan didn’t want to hold hands while walking, he wanted to run around like a banshee.  He wanted to run circles around us, which makes trying to get through a crowded exhibition hall a little difficult to say the least.  He didn’t want to be held. (read – wiggly, jiggly, octopus) The only consolation we could find was the dum-dum lollipops several of the vendors had out.  Those very well may have been our saving grace.  With lollipop in mouth, Keegan would happily sit on Phil or my shoulders indefinitely.  Today I attempted to locate the kap I mentioned at the start of this story…. It is no where to be found.  I’m pretty sure we lost it in all the chaos of our adventure on Sunday.  I’m pretty bummed, but I know I can just make another.  The part that makes me the most sad is not that we lost it.  I’m actually pretty excited at the prospect of someone else finding the hat and loving it.  I’m most sad that I don’t have any sort of tag or label on there to refer them back here.  So, that being said,  my next big buisness purchase will be some sort of sew-in labels for all my kaps.  I’m reaserching ideas now, but I’m not 100% sold on anything I’ve found.

And now for a quick photo. 

This little hat was a special request from a co-worker.  I really love how it turned out and will definitely be making some more just like it.  I plan on making more for the boutique show I’m a vendor at in March.  Yes, you read that right.  I was asked to do another boutique show!  It is in March, so I have a little time to prepare myself.

2 Responses to “Whew!”

  1. Sara February 3, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    Yay! So glad your show was a success and that you have new ideas for different styles and I think you’re absolutely right about the labels. Good Job!

  2. EvyKas February 3, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Awesome job on the blog! Congrats on getting your caps up and going. They look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

